On the left below please find an article from CPNN, and on the right its discussion.
Please note that links to the discussion no longer work directly.
Instead, Use the following address
where xxx is the topic number in the failed address obtained when you click on the discussion.
If this doesn't work, click here.

Learn Write Read Home About Us Discuss Search Subscribe Contact
by program area
by region
by category
by recency
United Nations and Culture of Peace
Global Movement for a Culture of Peace
Values, Attitudes, Actions
Rules of the Game
Submit an Article
Become a CPNN Reporter

Plaza de Mayo Grandmothers received Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize at UNESCO Headquarters
an article by UNESCO Media Services

The Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo (Argentina) received the 2010 Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize at UNESCO Headquarters on 14 September (3 p.m., Room I), in the presence of the President of Argentina, Cristina Fernández de Kirchner, President of Côte d’Ivoire Alassane Dramane Ouattara and several other Heads of State or Government.*

© UNESCO/Danica Bijeljac - UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova, Cristina Fernández de Kirchner, President of Argentina, and Estela Carlotto, founder and president of the Grandmothers of Plaza de Mayo, receiving UNESCO’s Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize on 14 September 2011

click on photo to enlarge

Announcing the choice of the laureate last March, the President of the Jury, Mário Soares, declared the Prize was being awarded to the Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo in recognition of their tireless battle over more than 30 years in favour of human rights, justice and peace.”

The non-governmental organization of the Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo was founded in 1977 to locate the biological families of children kidnapped during the political repression of the military dictatorship in Argentina. It seeks to ensure that such violations of children’s rights never happen again by demanding the prosecution of all those responsible for the tragedy.

The Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo was represented at the ceremony by Estela de Carlotto, President of the Organization, on whose behalf she received a cheque for US$ 150 000, a gold medal and a peace diploma.

A press conference took place at noon in Room IX with the participation of Estela de Carlotto as well as other Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo and some of the 105 grandchildren who have been able to reclaim their identity thanks to the work of the NGO.

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize - created in 1989 and awarded by UNESCO annually – honours people, institutions and organizations that have contributed significantly to the promotion, research, preservation or maintaining of peace, mindful of the Charter of the United Nations and the Constitution of UNESCO.

Previous laureates of the Prize include Nelson Mandela and Frederik W. De Klerk; Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres and Yasser Arafat; King Juan Carlos of Spain and former US President Jimmy Carter; Senegalese President Abdoulaye Wade and former President of Finland Martti Ahtisaari; and the former President of Brazil, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.

(Click here for a Spanish version of this article or here for a French version.)


Question(s) related to this article:

Protecting women and girls against violence, Is progress being made?

* * * * *

Latest reader comment:

The 47 CPNN articles devoted to this theme suggest that indeed progress is being made.

This report was posted on September 16, 2011.